Skip to main content

Genealogy and Local History

Pender County Family Research and History

About the Carolina Heritage Research Center

Carolina Heritage Center

The W. Dallas Herring Carolina Heritage Research Center offers genealogy and local history resources concentrated on eastern North Carolina, particularly Duplin, Pender, and Sampson counties.

The North Carolina genealogy collection of the late Dr. Dallas Herring, formerly located in Rose Hill, was donated to Pender County Library by the Duplin County Historical Foundation in 2013. The Carolina Heritage Research Center opened in September of 2013 to house this collection along with the existing Pender County Library genealogy and local history collection.

Pender, Sampston, and Duplin counties

Our archival genealogy collections include:

  • The Claude Moore Collection, covering Sampson county
  • The Dallas Herring Collection, strongest in Duplin County families, but it extends to most of eastern NC and beyond
  • The Pender County collection includes resources for Pender County, as well as pre-1875 New Hanover County. Eighty percent of the land mass of New Hanover County became Pender County in 1875.

About Dallas Herring

Dallas Herring

[Information about Dallas Herring]

About the Building

T. T. Murphy

Housed in the Henry-Murphy house, “former home of long-time Pender County School Superintendent, T.T. Murphy” Also formerly known as the York house (who was York, and are they “historically significant” enough to merit mention?)