Skip to main content

Location & About Us

Policies, Locations, Directions, Library Hours, and Phone Numbers

Library Card

To get a library card, visit either library location and speak with a staff member at the front service desk.

Cards are free for all residents of North Carolina. Replacement cards cost $1.00.

You'll need to bring:

  • A valid photo ID displaying your current mailing address


  • A valid photo ID plus another document with your name and current mailing address.

Children under the age of 18 are required to have the signature of an adult. This adult must have a valid ID and will be responsible for all materials borrowed. This includes returning items on time and paying any fines for late, lost, or damaged items.

New customers will be permitted to borrow up to two items. You will be given regular borrowing privileges after you return your first set of items. 

Download Complete Library Policy Manual

Loan Periods, Fines and Fees

Book Drops

Book Drops are available for the return of library materials when libraries are closed. Items are not overdue if returned before 10 AM the next business day. Renewals are accepted by telephone and online through your library account. Renewing and/or placing items on hold will be contingent upon the availability of the item(s) and the number of times you have renewed the item already. If you have question contact us at 910-259-1234.

Overdue Fines

  • Hardback books (2 wk loan for new fiction; all others 3 wk loan for all others) $.10/day up to $5.00
  • Children's books (3 wk loan (2 wk loan for Battle of the Book titles) $.05/day up to $2.50
  • Paperback books (3 wk loan) $.10/day up to $2.00
  • Audiobooks (2 wk loan/limit 5) $1.00/day up to $5.00
  • Children's audiobooks  (2 wk loan/limit 5) $0.50/day up to $2.50
  • Playaways (2 wk loan/limit 5) $.20/day up to $5.00
  • Magazines (2wk loan, back issies at least 3 months old only; limit 5) $.10/day up to $2.00
  • DVD (7 days/limit 4; 1 renewal) $1.00/day up to $5.00
  • Children's DVDs (7 days/limit 4; 1 renewal) $0.50/day up to $2.50 
  • Audiovisual Equipment (3 day loan) $2.00/day up to $6.00
  • Family Theme Bags (the bag itself, not the book inside the bag) (3 week loan, Limit 1 per family; return inside only) $.25/day up to $3.00
  • Family Theme Bag Items (3 week loan, Limit 1 bag per family; return inside only) $.05/day per item up to $2.50
  • Music CDs (1 week loan; limit 5) $.20/day up to $5.00


  • Lost/stolen library card replacement: $1.00
  • Library cards are free for:
    • All residents of North Carolina
    • People who have an out-of-state address but can show proof of owning property in Pender County
    • People who are employed in Pender County
  • All others must purchase a library card for $25.00 annually.
  • Interlibrary Loan Search: For articles, there may be additional copy/handling fees from the supplying library. $3.00 per book title
  • Photocopy per page: $.10
  • Computer Print Jobs:
    • $0.10 per black and white page
    • $0.25 per color page
  • Films/videos from State Library Return: cost of postage
  • Returned checks: $25.00
  • Internet Guess Passes: $1.00 per log-in
  • Debt Collection Fee: $10.00 per account

Download Complete Library Policy Manual