Skip to main content

Teens

Get on-demand homework help online!

Free online tutoring with Tutor.com

Could your child benefit from some extra help with writing? Do you struggle with helping your child with math because they teach kids to solve math problems differently than when you were in school? Get on-demand online tutoring for your child every day from noon until midnight with Tutor.com—free with your library card!

Access now!

Test Prep

Testing and Education Reference Center

The Testing and Education Reference Center offers practice tests and test prep e-books for AP exams, SAT and ACT, military exams such as the ASVAB, and more!

Access now!

Search for Research Articles


Credo Reference is a premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.


ABC-CLIO Ebook Collection has history and literature ebooks, including the series Daily Life, Critical Companions, Literature in Context, as well as American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography.

Films on Demand Video Collection has thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances.

Gale eBooks is a searchable collection of online reference titles and test prep ebooks.

SIRS Discoverer is designed specifically for elementary and middle school students, SIRS Discoverer offers articles, nonfiction books, images, activities, and websites curated for educational relevance, age appropriateness, and readability.

With SIRS Issues Researcher, you can research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.

The Statistical Abstract of the US is an authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

NCpedia is an encyclopedia of information about North Carolina, its history, people, government, and educational institutions.


Credo Reference is a premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.

Biography Reference Center is a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies on popular and heavily-researched figures.

Digital NC

With Digital NC, you can explore the history and culture of North Carolina through original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state.

History Study Center is a collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day.

The Historic North Carolina Digital Newspaper Collection includes 3.5 million pages from over 1,000 NC county and local newspapers. The collection goes as far back as 1751 and as recent as 2018, though the bulk of the collection is from the mid-1800s up to the 1970s.

North American Women’s Letters and Diaries from Alexander Street Press has women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more.

Includes articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.


African American Poetry

Poems from 1750-1900 including Lucy Terry Prince, Phillis Wheatley, Jupiter Hammon, Paul Laurence Dunbar, and more.

American Poetry

Find poems written from 1650-1920. Includes Anne Bradstreet, Emily Dickinson, Edgar Allan Poe, Phillis Wheatley, Walt Whitman and Herman Melville.

English Poetry

Find poems written from 600 to 1900 including Thomas Percy, Walter Scott, Robert Dodsley, Francis Turner Palgrave, and more.

20th Century African American Poetry

62 of the most important African-American poets of the last century: Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.

20th Century American Poetry

A database of modern and contemporary American poetry from the early twentieth century to the present. Presently includes 36,000 poems drawn from 460 volumes by 217 poets.

20th Century English Poetry

Modernist poems (1900-1999): W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Wilfred Owen, Robert Graves, A.E. Housman, D.H. Lawrence, Carol Ann Duffy, and more.